2020 GAC Chair – Joe Riedel, Straub Construction Company
2020 GAC Vice Chair – Rebecca Galati, Evergy

The Shawnee Chamber of Commerce Governmental Affairs works as an advocate for your business at the local, state and federal levels to pursue policies that promote a strong business environment and support business growth. As a Chamber of Commerce member, you will have access to reports that will inform you on what you need to know about how these governments are working with businesses. The Chamber also organizes forums and debates to give members access to elected officials and business leaders. This important part of the Chamber works with a team of volunteers that represent the Chamber membership, nearly 650 members strong, and develops business position statements and voices of support together. Members interested in joining the Governmental Affairs Committee should contact Ann Smith-Tate at 913.631.6545.

Updates from Topeka 





Join us for the 2020 Legislative Breakfast Series

The Shawnee Chamber, in coordination with the Johnson County Public Policy Council, sponsors 2 Legislative Breakfasts and 2 Legislative Lunches with Legislators throughout the year. They are held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park and on:

  • Breakfast – Saturday, January 18, 2020 @ 7:30 A.M.
  • Breakfast – Saturday, February 8, 2020 @ 7:30 A.M.
  • Lunch – Tuesday, April 7, 2020 @ 12:00 P.M.
  • Lunch – Thursday, May 14, 2020 @ 12:00 P.M.

Tickets are $27 for members for Breakfast/$33 for members for Lunch, $32 for non-members for Breakfast/$38 for members for Lunch. A $112 four breakfast package price is also available for members. Contact The Chamber to purchase tickets.

Directory of Elected Officials 

City of Shawnee City Council Mailing Address
City of Shawnee City Council Office
11110 Johnson Drive
Shawnee, KS 66203 
Office phone: 913.631.2500

Mayor, Michelle Distler| email

City Council

Ward I
     Tammy Thomas | email
     Matt Zimmerman | email

Ward II
     Dr. Mike Kemmling | email
     Eric Jenkins | email

Ward III
     Lisa Larson-Bunnell | email
     Kurt Knappen | email

Ward IV
      Lindsey Constance | email
      Jill Chalfie | email

For a complete contact listing, click here to the City of Shawnee’s website.

Board of County Commissioners

Mailing Address for all County Commissioners:
County Administration Building, Suite 3300
111 South Cherry Street
Olathe, Kansas 66061 -3486
Office Fax: 913.715.0440

The Honorable Ed Eilert
Chairman of the Board
Office Phone: 913.715.0430 | email

The Honorable Becky Fast
Commissioner, First District
Office Phone: 913.715.0431 | email

The Honorable Jim Allen
Commissioner, Second District
Office Phone: 913.715.0432 | email

The Honorable Steven Klika
Commissioner, Third District
Office Phone: 913.715.0433 | email
The Honorable Jane’e Hanzlick 
Commissioner, Fourth District
Office Phone: 913.715.0434 | email

The Honorable Michael Ashcraft
Commissioner, Fifth District
Office Phone: 913.715.0435 | email

The Honorable Mike Brown
Commissioner, Sixth District
Office Phone: 913.715.0436 | email

U.S. Congress

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts

U.S. Representative Sharice Davids

State of Kansas 

Governor Laura Kelly

State Senator

Sen. Mike Thompson, Senate District 10  
Topeka: 785.296.7362
Local: 913.396.9306

State Representatives

Rep. Tom Cox, District 17  
Topeka: 785.296.7331

Rep. Cindy Neighbor, District 18
Topeka: 785.296.7690
Local: 913.268.9061 or 816.225.0580

Rep. Susan Ruiz, District 23 
Topeka: 785.296.7482  
Local: 913.248.0632

Rep. Owen Donohoe, District 39 
Topeka: 785.296.7675
Local: 913.441.9042



Join the Chamber

Invest in the future of your business... membership is just a click away!


Upcoming Events

View More

Newest Members

Contact Us

  • Shawnee Chamber of Commerce
  • 913.631.6545
  • 15100 West 67th Street
  • Suite 202
  • Shawnee, KS 66217-9344